h1

My Art Interview with Denise Smith

December 22, 2007

Denise Smith is a visual artist who did an early installation at the Tollbooth Gallery project. She was heavily involved with Toby Room and contributed to ArtRod’s ongoing touring experimental film/video series Don’t Bite the Pavement. Here’s an entertaining interview I did with Smith that was part of the Tollbooth interviews. Her topics range from the Dalai Lama, Paris Hilton, and designing outfits for  bad public art.
Read interview here.
3 comments

  1. […] My Art Interview with Denise Smith […]


  2. This one was fun to read! Was it a spoken interview that you later transcribed, or did you do the interview over email or something? It made me think about the interview as a sort of form of writing, one that I’ve found to be quite difficult when I’ve had to do them in the past. I had trouble thinking of questions and keeping the whole thing flowing to a satisfying conclusion. Maybe this is a result of the fact that I’m not an aggressive conversationalist? Anyway, you did a good job here, and I enjoyed reading it.


  3. Oh good. Yeah, Denise is entertaining. That was actually an email interview, but I usually do them as two part. I ask questions and after she responds ask a second series of clarifying questions to try to get that conversational flow/feel. I like the answers that one gets in written interviews, but spoken ones have a better flow usually… this kind of approximates the two. I don’t know if this is a common way to do it, but I like it.



Leave a Reply

