h1

Process Letter to My Advisor 3.5

May 3, 2008

Okay, my semester is over. This was kind of a lackluster final push, but I finished revisions on a 25 page paper and wrote a couple annotations… and am calling it good. My paper kind of lost it’s focus in the conclusion, so I very well may have to do another rewrite.

Dear XXXX,

Wow, this semester went by really fast. How have you been? Thanks, the feedback in the last packet was really helpful. Your cuts really help. You’re right, at the this stage I still don’t seem to have the instincts for what should stay or go in the manuscript. How have you been?

I’m glad that you liked my creative work last packet and feel it is more alive. Flatness is one of those things I struggle with. I also seem to second guess where I need to cut back and where I need to unpack ideas more, so that’s useful. What makes any of this interesting? I’ll check out the old issues of Art Issues.

Here is a summary of the work I’ve completed this semester. For the first packet I completed annotations for Hawthorne’s Blithedale Romance and Weschler’s Seeing is Forgetting the Name of the Thing One Sees and submitted the first 22 page rewrite of the old chapter one of my manuscript. For the second packet I sent the overkill portion that was the complete rewrite of the first three chapters (just over 50 pages), and for the third packet I submitted my first draft of my Long Critical (about 23 pages) on Color and Chromophobia. Packet four contained annotations for Batchelor’s Chromophobia, Hickey’s Air Guitar, the Mueck show at the Warhol, and Murakami’s After the Quake. For my creative work I submitted the new first chapter about the kid at his dad’s house (about 15 pages).

For this final packet I annotated Salinger’s Catcher in the Rye and Gondry’s The Sceince of Sleep and focused on the rewrite of my Long Critical.

This has been a very productive semester for me with a focus on refocusing the direction and feel of my manuscript. Overall I’d say one of this semester’s major themes was reconciling visual art and theory with my understanding of written work. This exploration has been very productive and I am extremely pleased with your ability to bridge both worlds so effortlessly. That’s something I’ve been missing lately and it’s exciting.

I’m also thinking about who I should take as an advisor next and who I should continue with as I finish up. I am currently a G3 and have never worked with the same advisor more than once. I enjoy working with you and would like to take you next semester, but I’m also wondering who I should look to for my final G5 semester and who I should try to get for my second reader. Any thoughts or strategies you might have? Any overarching advice you have for my work after working with me this semester? I like your perspective and how you write. It feels like a luxury to work with an advisor more than once… as it always sort of feels like I’m starting over when I have a new advisor as you both get up to speed on each other’s style and the manuscript.

Well I should wrap this up or I’m going to miss the last pickup for priority mail! Thanks for all your feedback and help this semester and I look forward to working with you in the future.

Leave a Reply

